Entries by Mary Williams

Review: On tree longevity (New Phytol)

Everyone enjoys hearing about ancient trees that have been alive since various events in human history, but did you ever stop to wonder why some trees live for millennia and others don’t? If so, you’ll want to read this Tansley Review by Piovesan and Biondi. One of their first observations is that in principle, trees […]

Plant Science Research Weekly: Feb 12, 2021

Review: On tree longevity Everyone enjoys hearing about ancient trees that have been alive since various events in human history, but did you ever stop to wonder why some trees live for millennia and others don’t? If so, you’ll want to read this Tansley Review by Piovesan and Biondi. One of their first observations is […]

Plant Physiology Call for Papers: 2021 Focus Issue on the Plant Cell Atlas

Editors: Kenneth D. Birnbaum, Julia Bailey-Serres, Marisa Otegui, and Sue Rhee  Deadline for Submission: May 1, 2021 Publication: December 2021 To submit an article, go to http://pphys.msubmit.net Many questions central to plant biology focus on the state of specialized cells and their response to the environment. Cellular states are relevant to every aspect of plant […]

Plantae Presents: Julia Bailey-Serres and Rashmi Sasidharan

Plantae Presents: Julia Bailey-Serres and Rashmi Sasidharan “Life in the wet zone: how plants and two moms survive inundation” April 28  – 10am EST, 3pm GMT, 4pm CET  Register Here Julia Bailey-Serres Julia Bailey-Serres is a distinguished professor of genetics and the MacArthur Foundation chair at the University of California, Riverside. A native of California, she […]

Three-dimensional reconstructions of haustoria in two parasitic plant species in the Orobanchaceae (Plant Physiol)

Parasitic plants form haustoria, which are specialized multicellular structures that penetrate into their host’s vasculature and act as conduits for nutrients.  The molecular and genetic contributors to haustorium development and function are well described. Here, Masumoto et al. have provided new insights into haustorium formation and structure through 3D reconstruction of serial thin (1 micron) […]

Convergence of sphingolipid desaturation across over 500 million years of plant evolution (Nature Plants)

If you remember your biochemistry, lipids that are saturated (without double bonds) pack more tightly and therefore have a higher melting temperature than those that are unsaturated, therefore bend and pack less tightly (think of margarine versus oil). Plants can modify their membranes in a temperature-responsive way to maintain a consistent degree of fluidity. Resemann […]

Plant Science Research Weekly: February 4, 2021

Review: Age is NOT just a number Aging of plants is marked by the growth and differentiation of individual organs, as well as transitions of the whole plant through developmental phases: juvenile, vegetative adult, and reproductive phase. In their recent review, Rankenberg et al. discuss how abiotic stress responses vary in plants with their age. […]

Plantae Presents: Yuling Jiao and Lilan Hong

Plantae Presents: Yuling Jiao and Lilan Hong Special time! March 24 9am Beijing (1am London, Noon Sydney; Tues March 23 9pm New York, 6pm San Francisco) Register Here Yuling Jiao: Stochastic gene expression drives mesophyll protoplast regeneration in Arabidopsis Yuling Jiao is a Research Group Leader at the Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology, Chinese […]

Plantae Presents: Sophia Stone and Sjon Hartman

  Plantae Presents: Sophia Stone and Sjon Hartman April 14  – 10am EST, 3pm GMT, 4pm CET  Register Here  Sophia Stone: The ubiquitin proteasome system at the crossroads of abiotic and biotic stress tolerance Sophia Stone earned her PhD at York University, Canada and completed a HFSP long-term fellowship at the University of California-Davis, USA. […]