Recent Posts

Lessons from Plants: A conversation with Beronda Montgomery

/
A conversation with Beronda Montgomery April 6, 11 am EDT (8am PDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CET) Beronda Montgomery is a Foundation Professor at Michigan State University in the departments of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Microbiology & Molecular Genetics. The Montgomery Lab pursues a common…

Plantae Webinar: What I Wish I had Known When I Started Grad School 

/
Plantae Webinar: What I Wish I had Known When I Started Grad School  When: Tuesday, April 13th at 1PM EDT 10 AM PDT (UTC-7)  | 12 PM CDT (UTC-5) | 1 PM EDT (UTC-4)  About This Webinar This semester, many graduate students are embarking on a new unprecedented journey. The ASPB Early Career Plant…

Plantae Presents Special Event: Claudia Vickers and Guillaume Barbier

/
Plantae Presents Special Event: Claudia Vickers and Guillaume Barbier Special Event: Plant Synthetic Biology Recorded March 31 - 4pm EDT, 9pm BST, Thursday April 1, 7am in Sydney Save the date for the 2021 Plant Synthetic Biology conference (virtual) September 25 – 27. More details…
The North American Arabidopsis Steering Committee logo

NAASC-Seeds of Change: Using Plants to Broaden the Impact of Science in Society

In November 2018, NAASC hosted an NSF-funded* workshop entitled "Broadening the Impact of Plant Science Through Community-Based Innovation, Evaluation and Sharing of Outreach Programs" at the University of California, Davis. The 3-day workshop was organized by members of NAASC**, and before it started…

Plantae Presents: Yuling Jiao and Lilan Hong

Plantae Presents: Yuling Jiao and Lilan Hong Recorded March 24 Yuling Jiao: Stochastic gene expression drives mesophyll protoplast regeneration in Arabidopsis Yuling Jiao is a Research Group Leader at the Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology, Chinese Academy of Sciences,…

Plant Scientist Highlight - Barbara McClintock

/
Barbara McClintock was born on June 16th, 1902 in Hartford, Connecticut, and was raised in Brooklyn, NY. She was one of four children of Sara and Thomas McClintock. She received her bachelor's, master's, and doctorate degrees from Cornell, completing her education in 1927. She defied norms at the time…

Plantae Presents: Sheng-Yang He and Jonathan Jacobs

/
Plantae Presents: Sheng-Yang He and Jonathan Jacobs March 17  -  10am EST, 2pm GMT, 3pm CET Recorded March 17   Sheng Yang He: Plant-pathogen interactions facing a changing climate Sheng-Yang He is a Professor at Duke University and an Investigator at Howard Hughes Medical…

Plant point of view: Echinacea alkamides and microbial friends 

/
Written and Illustrated by Laura Mejia. Click on images to enlarge.   This week’s article by Maggini et al. (2017) is focused on the interactions between a plant and its endophytes. Specifically, it explores the contributions of the bacterial endophytes of Echinacea purpura, widely used in traditional…

Plantae Presents: Yvon Jaillais, Rosa Laura López-Marqués, and Antje Heese

/
Plantae Presents: Yvon Jaillais, Rosa Laura López-Marqués, and Antje Heese Special Event: Plant Physiology Focus Issue on Dynamic Membranes Recorded March 10th Membranes are highly dynamic structures, with the timescales for turnover of lipid and protein spanning orders of magnitude…